top of page

Beginning Bible Study


First, a tiny background of where I was in my life when I started all this. In June 2019 I had a Hemorrhagic Stroke which left me with disabilities. Click the link if you'd like to read that blog. Soon after, around March of 2020, we all had to embrace the Covid-19 pandemic. I think everyone went through a somewhat traumatic time when that came upon us. This was my experience. As I spent more and more time alone, I had this deep feeling I was missing something from my life. I didn't know what it was, I went through about six months of depression, high anxiety, and a loneliness that I've never felt before. I was coming to the conclusion, if I wanted to feel better I needed to take control of my emotions myself. At that same time I realized, I was hearing and feeling inspirational quotes and bible verses. Things I would read on Facebook, Pinterest, etc. God knew I needed Him and He was trying to tell me to come find Him!

"You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart." ~ Jeremiah 29:13

I made the decision to learn as much as I could. Let me tell you, I knew almost nothing. I was kind of embarrassed because I was finding the children lessons helpful and here I am 47 years old. But, I definitely accepted where my knowledge stood and embraced it. Why should I be embarrassed? God is the only One I answer too and He already knew, He knows everything.

"The eyes of the Lord are in every place, keeping watch on the evil and the good." ~ Proverbs 15:3

Now, why did I not know what a task I was taking on? I thought I could just read the Bible and get through it, um, NO. I soon realized I needed guidance and support and explanations of almost everything! Remember we're in a pandemic, church isn't open, let alone bible study groups. God didn't let that stop me! I found a series on YouTube, I don't know if you've ever looked, but there are a lot of bible study videos on YouTube. I did find the perfect one for me; BibleTalk with Mike Mazzalongo. You can easily go book by book, he explains things well, PowerPoint is used for visual reference, and they have spent so much time and effort and I assume money, to get this information out to us, and for free. I so appreciate their effort!

"All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness" ~ 2 Timothy 3:16

I am obsessed with organization, and organizing information is a thing, lol. When I do bible studies I take notes, then organize those notes to work for me. My short term memory is a problem, so I need to be able to go back and read my notes (completely) to remind myself or be able to pull up information I might need. I work hard on these notes and they take a lot of time, so I want to be able to share them with anyone that might like to use them.




The 12 Disciples ~ Getting to know the characters. I realized I needed this information pretty quickly. Reading all the different names was confusing until I taught myself who was who.


I also used these wonderful, free Character Study Worksheets I found online.


Also, when I completely finish a book of the bible, I like to find a movie for that specific book. I've always been more of a visual learner. I will link any movies I watch to their proper book. Please keep in mind, I knew very little coming in, I make mistakes, and I might interpret something different. I welcome corrections, comments, feedback and different opinions, just please be gentle, loving, and kind. God bless!

bottom of page